Blocks on User Accounts
| - Why Accounts are Blocked
- Why Networks are Blocked
- Unblocking Accounts and Networks
| - Users Cannot Block Other Users
- Projects Flagged Multiple Times
- Flagging of Appropriate Projects
Also see the Scratch Website Community Guidelines.
Why does the Scratch Team block some user accounts from accessing the Scratch website?
When a user account has been used to violate the community guidelines the Scratch team may block the account's access to the Scratch website.
Why does the Scratch Team block access from some networks?
When access from a network is blocked, no accounts from that location can access Scratch. We take this step when multiple accounts from the same location have been used to post disrespectful or inappropriate content.
What can be done to unblock a user account or network?
Accounts and computers that are blocked display a notice explaining the reason for the block, and a form that can be used to contact the Scratch Team. We ask that the Scratcher consider the actions that led to the account being blocked, review the community guidelines, and agree to them before contacting us to request removal of the block. Please don't create a new account if your account has been blocked. Instead, contact us to discuss the situation.
Can one or more Scratch users block a user account or network access?
Only members of the Scratch Team can block accounts or network access, and we do this only as a last resort on accounts that have been used to violate the community guidelines.
What happens when a project is flagged multiple times?
When a project is flagged by a certain number of people it is automatically censored and the user account is temporarily suspended. This feature helps prevent user accounts from being used to post large amounts of inappropriate material on the site all at once. The Scratch Team then evaluates the project based on the community guidelines and restores it if it has been wrongly censored.